POSTED: Thursday May 14th 2015

PyeongChang 2018 boosts national pride naming three Korean Olympic skating champions as Honorary Ambassadors

Promoting the PyeongChang 2018 Winter Games in the 1,000 day countdown to the Opening Ceremony

Seoul, May 14, 2015 - Korea’s most decorated skating Olympians Seung-hoon LEE, Seung-hi PARK and Tae-bum MO will participate as Honorary Ambassadors for the PyeongChang 2018 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.

The PyeongChang Organizing Committee for the 2018 Olympic & Paralympic Winter Games (POCOG, President Yang Ho Cho) will appoint Seung-hoon LEE, Seung-hi PARK and Tae-bum MO as Honorary Ambassadors at the special event celebrating the 1,000-days to go milestone to be held at Olympic Park, in Seoul, on May 16th.

Seung-hoon LEE transitioned his career from short track to speed skating and earned double medals at the Vancouver 2010 Olympics - a gold medal in 10,000m and a silver medal in 5,000m. He recently won a gold medal in men’s mass start at the 5th stage of the ISU Speed Skating World Cup where the mass start debuted as one of the official disciplines.

The first female athlete to win Olympic medals in all disciplines in Korea’s short track history, Seung-hi PARK, earned two gold medals and one bronze at the Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games and switched to speed skating. She recently won the National Single Distance Championship in the 1,000m and, with her improvement in such a short period, is expected to make a remarkable performance at the next Winter Olympics in PyeongChang.

Tae-bum MO earned a gold medal in the 500m speed skating event at the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games, which was the first gold medal aside from short track in Korea’s Winter Olympic history.

The three new Ambassadors are currently winter sports athletes who are training to compete in PyeongChang and will further strengthen the promotions and awareness for the PyeongChang 2018 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games by partnering with ten other notable world-class Honorary Ambassadors; Yuna Kim (Figure skating gold medalist), Kyou Hyuk Lee(Speed staking former Olympian), Shin-soo Choo (Major League Baseball Outfielder), Sue-jin Kang (Artistic Director at Korean National Ballet, Principal Dancer at Stuttgart Ballet), Oisoo Lee (Novelist), Byung Ha Kwon (Former President of World Federation of Oversees Korean Traders Associations), the Sejong Soloists (Orchestra), Seihon CHO (Celebrity photographer), Haksung KIM (Wheelchair Curling silver medalist) and recently appointed Lindsey Vonn (Olympic Alpine Skiing Champion).

The 1,000-days to go celebration event featuring the announcement of the three new Honorary Ambassadors will be held at Olympic Park, in Seoul, on May 16th with the participation of the current and new Honorary Ambassadors.

For more information:
CONTACT:    POCOG Press Office

The PyeongChang Organizing Committee for the Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games (POCOG) will host the XXIII edition of the Olympic Winter Games on 9-25 February 2018. Over 80 countries and 6,000 athletes are expected to take part in the first Olympic Winter Games to be held in Asia in 20 years. Seven sports comprising 15 disciplines will be on the official program.

The PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games will take place on 9-18 March 2018, with approximately 50 countries and 690 athletes competing. Five sports are on the Paralympic program.

# # #

Keywords · PyeongChang 2018 · Winter Olympics · Paralympics

Name: Pocog Press Office
Organization: PyeongChang Organizing Committee for the 2018 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games
Phone: 82333502197

Please refer all questions to the company listed above issuing the press release. SFC will not be able to assist you with any inquiries and disclaims any content in these press releases.