POSTED: Monday February 28th 2011

Scotland wins top prize at Pepsi ICC Development Programme Annual Awards 2010

Mazhar Khan presented with Lifetime Service Award while Papua New Guinea wins in two categories

Cricket Scotland took the top prize of the Pepsi ICC Development Programme Awards 2010, claiming the Best Overall Cricket Development Programme, while Mazhar Khan of the Emirates Cricket Board was this year’s recipient of the Lifetime Service award.

Japan Cricket Association was awarded the Best Women’s Cricket Initiative for its outstanding work, while Suriname Cricket Association won the Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative for the organizing of a charity cricket tournament with all proceeds going towards local orphanages.

Neil Saint, of France Cricket, has been honoured with the Volunteer of the Year Award for his dedication and contribution to cricket in France in 2010.

The Photo of the Year came from Bermuda Cricket Board and was taken by Fiona Holmes. The photo, entitled ‘Stay Focused’, ensures that Bermuda take this award for the second consecutive year and illustrates some of the endearing qualities of youth cricket.

Other winners this year include, Cricket PNG and Cricket Ireland - jointly awarded the honour of Best Promotion and Marketing Programme. Papua New Guinea again staged the Pacific MMI Don’t Drink and Drive Legend Event, with former international cricketers leading a side each in the Twenty20 carnival. Cricket Ireland staged a promotional activity prior to an ODI against Australia with both sets of teams heading to Croke Park and trying their hands at hurling.

Cricket PNG also took home the Best Junior Participation Initiative for its efforts in growing the game across the country and in schools.

This year’s judging panel featured current ICC President Sharad Pawar, alongside former ICC presidents David Morgan, Ehsan Mani and Malcolm Gray. Keith Bradshaw, the Secretary and Chief Executive of Marylebone Cricket Club, completed the line-up.

ICC Acting Global Development Tim Anderson said of this year’s awards: “It’s great to again see such outstanding initiatives and people leading the development of our Great Sport around the world.  They deserve this recognition.

“Congratulations to all the award winners, and to those who were not successful this time around, your continued dedication to cricket’s growth is really making a positive difference.”

The 2010 winners:

Best Overall Cricket Development Programme - Cricket Scotland

Best Women’s Cricket Initiative - Japan Cricket Association

Best Junior Participation Initiative - Cricket PNG

Best Cricket Promotion and Marketing Programme - Cricket PNG and Cricket Ireland

Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative - Suriname Cricket Association

Photo of the Year - Bermuda Cricket Board (Fiona Holmes)

Volunteer of the Year - Neil Saint (France)

Lifetime Service Award - Mazhar Khan (UAE)

Prizes - the national cricket bodies of all global winners receive a US$2,000 cricket equipment grant.

The format of this year’s awards was similar to previous years with all the nominations being submitting to ICC regional offices by 20 December 2010. Regions selected and announced the respective regional winners with these then also put forward for the global judging process.

# # #

Keywords · ICC · International · Cricket · Council · Cricket Scotland · Pepsi · ICC Development Programme Awards · Best Overall Cricket Development Programme · Mazhar Khan · Lifetime Service award

Name: Lucy Benjamin
Organization: International Cricket Council
Phone: 971505545893

Please refer all questions to the company listed above issuing the press release. SFC will not be able to assist you with any inquiries and disclaims any content in these press releases.