POSTED: Sunday November 23rd 2008

2008 World Athletics Gala Awards

Male World Athlete of the Year                 
Usain Bolt (JAM)

Female World Athlete of the Year
Yelena Isinbayeva (RUS)

Male Performance of the Year
Dayron Robles (CUB)*

*Liu Xiang (CHN) will collect his Performance of the Year Trophy for 2006 when he was unable to attend  the World Athletics Gala.

Female Performance of the Year
Tirunesh Dibaba (ETH)
Barbora Spotakova (CZE)

Revelation of the year Award
Pamela Jelimo (KEN)

Distinguished Career Award
Kajsa Bergqvist (SWE)
Stefan Holm (SWE)
Jefferson Pérez (ECU)

Inspirational Award
Henry Rono (KEN)

80 Years of Women Athletes at the Olympic Games
Jackie Joyner-Kersee (USA)

Special Olympic Award
Usain Bolt (JAM)
Tirunesh Dibaba (ETH)
Yelena Isinbayeva (RUS)
Françoise Mbango (CMR)
Angelo Taylor (USA)
Andreas Thorkildsen (NOR)

*Exceptionally considering the incredible depth of candidates for the Performance of the Year award, the International Athletic Foundation Panel decided to extend the number of finalists to the top 5.

# # #

Keywords · Athletics · Usain Bolt · IAAF

Name: Nick Davies
Organization: IAAF
Phone: +377 93 10 88 62

Please refer all questions to the company listed above issuing the press release. SFC will not be able to assist you with any inquiries and disclaims any content in these press releases.

This site is not affiliated with or endorsed by the International Olympic Committee (IOC), United States Olympic Committee (USOC), or the National Olympic Committee (NOC) of any country.

Disclaimer Notice: By providing links to other Web Sites, Sports Features Communications® does not guarantee, approve or endorse the information or products available at these web sites, nor does a link indicate any association with or endorsement by the linked Web Site to