POSTED: November 25th 2017

Olympics: EOC General Assembly closes with new president and Executive Committee

The EOC General Assembly in Zagreb © EOC
The EOC General Assembly in Zagreb © EOC

Sports Features Communications 

(SFC) The European Olympic Committees (EOC) General Assembly wrapped up today in Zagreb, Croatia with newly elected President President Janez Kocijancic and a new Executive Committee (EC) for the 2017-2021 quadrennial. 

Following a tie in the election yesterday for a seat on the EC, a second vote was taken today and Peter Mennel (Austria) edged out Yury Yuriev (Russia) for a seat on the committee.

President Janez Kocijancic commented, "It has been an excellent few days in Zagreb, where we have had the chance to reflect on the excellent work of all of the EOC Commissions and the European National Olympic Committees throughout the year. Over the past two days, we have heard detailed reports on all of the key topics, which has demonstrated the strong position we are in and forms the platform for the EOC to keep on improving next year. I would like to thank everyone who has contributed to this excellent General Assembly, not least our friends at the Croatian Olympic Committee, who I am sure everyone will agree have been exceptional hosts.
"Next year is a crucial year for the EOC, as the second edition of the European Games grows closer. Preparations for the Games in Minsk are going well, as we heard in the reports of Spyros Capralos and George Katulin, and we are grateful to have the excellent cooperation of the Organising Committee. 

"However, it is crucial that we continue to work hard together next year to ensure the European Games product reaches its full potential."

The various EOC commissions gave reports to the assembly and the organization and European Athletics signed a historic agreement to launch the exciting "Dynamic New Athletics" concept for Minsk 2019.
The European Olympic Laurel award was bestowed on six recipients: Victor Sanchez (Spain), Tzeno Tzenov (Bulgaria), Roberto Fabbricini (Italy), Igor Lysov (Ukraine), Mieczyslaw Nowicki (Poland), and Rezso Gallov (Hungary). 

The 2017 EOC Order of the Merit was awarded to Croatian Olympic Committee President and EOC Executive Committee member Zlatko Mateša, with President Kocijancic praising his instrumental role as the "founding father" of the European Games.
Reconfirmed EOC Secretary General Raffaele Pagnozzi concluded,"I would like to congratulate Croatian Olympic Committee President Zlatko Mateša and Secretary General Josip Cop for their exceptional work leading the outstanding preparation and staging of this year's General Assembly. The Croatian Olympic Committee has an excellent team and great leadership and we are very grateful for the cooperation we have shared to organise this event."
Next year's annual general assembly will take place in Marbella, Spain.

Keywords · EOC · Zagreb · Croatia

For more information contact:
Laura Walden ()

All original materials contained in this section are protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of Sports Features Communications, Inc the owner of that content. It is prohibited to alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content.