POSTED: March 28th 2017
NewsUpdate

Olympics: NBC finally goes to live programming across all time zones

LAURA WALDEN (USA) / Sports Features Communications

(SFC) For the first time ever NBC will be transmitting the PyeongChang 2018 Olympics live across all time zones. The network announced today that all time slots daytime, primetime or late night will be showing events live from South Korea.

Jim Bell, President, NBC Olympics Production & Programming, said, "Nothing brings America together for two weeks like the Olympics, and that communal experience will now be shared across the country at the same time, both on television and streaming online.

"That means social media won't be ahead of the action in any time zone, and as a result, none of our viewers will have to wait for anything. This is exciting news for the audience, the advertisers, and our affiliates alike."

The primetime broadcast is set for 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT, and 5 p.m. PT and will be followed by the local news. A "Primetime Plus" program, consisting of live continuing coverage from PyeongChang will follow after that the Primetime programming will be replayed.

Longtime host Bob Costas stepped down last month and Mike Tirico will take his place for the award winning sportscaster who had served in the role for NBC since 1992.

NBC's televising of PyeongChang 2018 will start on Thursday, February 8th with the Opening Ceremony taking place on Friday, February 9, 2018.

**LAURA WALDEN has over twenty-six years of experience in the Olympic Movement, formerly at the European Olympic Committees with SportEurope under former IOC President Dr. Jacques Rogge and IOC Member Mario Pescante. She worked with the Rome 2004 and Turin 2006 Olympic bids and also managed PR & media for Dr. Jacques Rogge during his campaign for the presidency.


Keywords · Olympics · NBC


For more information contact:
Laura Walden ()


All original materials contained in this section are protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of Sports Features Communications, Inc the owner of that content. It is prohibited to alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content.