POSTED: August 19th 2016

Olympics: Four new members elected to IOC Athletes' Commission at Rio 2016

Britta Heidemann (Germany/Fencing) © Getty Images
Britta Heidemann (Germany/Fencing) © Getty Images

Yelena Isinbayeva (Russian Federation/Athletics) © Getty Images
Yelena Isinbayeva (Russian Federation/Athletics) © Getty Images

Daniel Gyurta (Hungary/Swimming) © Getty Images
Daniel Gyurta (Hungary/Swimming) © Getty Images

MARISSA FLANDERS (USA) / Sports Features Communications

(SFC) Four new members have been elected to the International Olympic Committee (IOC)'s Athletes' Commission by their peers for an eight-year term. Those new members include Britta Heidemann (Germany/Fencing), Daniel Gyurta (Hungary/Swimming), Yelena Isinbayeva (Russian Federation/Athletics), and Seung-min Ryu (Korea/Table Tennis).

IOC Member and Chair of the Election Committee, Nicole Hoevertsz along with Vice Chair of the IOC Athletes' Commission, Angela Ruggiero made the announcement at the Olympic Village in Rio de Janeiro. The four outgoing members that were elected at the Beijing 2008 Games are Alexander Popov, Claudia Bokel, Yumilka Ruiz Luaces, and Dae Sung Moon.

IOC President, Thomas Bach stated, "The athletes are at the heart of the Olympic Games. Their voice is very important in the IOC. My congratulations go to the newly elected members of the IOC Athletes' Commission. We are looking forward to working closely with them to further advance the Olympic Movement."

In addition, outgoing Chair, Bokel's four-year term at the helm will come to a conclusion and she will take her place on the IOC Executive Board. Current Vice Chair, Ruggiero will be replacing her as Chair of the IOC Athletes' Commission.

"Congratulations to the four newly-elected members to the IOC Athletes' Commission, which is the voice of all the athletes within the Olympic Movement. I wish them all the best in their contribution to the Commission under the leadership of incoming Chair Angela Ruggiero," expressed Bokel.

A total of 5,185 athletes voted in the election, which was held at the Olympic Village in Rio over the past 25 days. 1,603 votes went to Heidemann, 1,544 to Ryu, 1,469 to Gyurta, and 1,365 to Isinbayeva.

Furthermore, Heidemann, Gyurta, Insibayeva, and Ryu will be proposed for IOC Membership at the IOC Session on August 21st. Upon approval, they will be officially introduced at the Rio 2016 Closing Ceremony.

** MARISSA FLANDERS is a graduate of Saint Leo University with a Bachelor's Degree in Sport Business. She has over four years of writing experience and has a real passion for ice hockey following the Pittsburgh Penguins on her blog

Keywords · IOC · Rio 2016 · Beijing 2008 · Athletes Commission · Olympics

For more information contact:
Laura Walden ()

All original materials contained in this section are protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of Sports Features Communications, Inc the owner of that content. It is prohibited to alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content.