POSTED: August 5th 2016

Olympics: IOC Executive Board elects 8 new members and 2 new vice-presidents ahead of Rio 2016

IOC membership at Rio 2016 © IOC/IAN JONES
IOC membership at Rio 2016 © IOC/IAN JONES

Eight new members join the IOC as members © IOC/IAN JONES
Eight new members join the IOC as members © IOC/IAN JONES

MARISSA FLANDERS (USA) / Sports Features Communications

(SFC) At the 129th International Olympic Committee (IOC) Session ahead of the Rio 2016 Olympics, two new IOC Vice Presidents, and eight new Members were elected to the IOC membership.

Outgoing Vice Presidents, Nawal El Moutawakel (MAR) and Craig Reedie (GBR) have been replaced by Ugur Erdener (TUR) and Juan Antonio Samaranch (ESP). Also joining the EB are five returning and new Members, including Angela Ruggiero (USA); Gian Franco Kasper (SUI); Willi Kaltschmitt (GUA); Sergey Bubka (UKR); and Ser Miang Ng (SIN).

Moreover, Patrick Hickey and Ching-Kuo Wu will be resuming their seats as the Association of National Olympic Committee (ANOC) and Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF) representatives, respectively. As for the IOC Athletes' Commission, the outgoing Chair, Claudia Bokel has been replaced by Angela Ruggiero after elections earlier this week.

In addition, during a presentation by the IOC Members Election Commission Chair, HRH the Princess Royal, a new procedure was reported for the recruitment of IOC Members. The new procedure has been based on the recommendations from Olympic Agenda 2020. The new approach aims to attract new members with the experience and skills that the IOC needs. Also, integrity checks will be done by the IOC Ethics Commission.

The EB also elected eight new IOC Members during the IOC Session, which included, Anant Singh (RSA); Auvita Rapilla (PNG); Karl Stoss (AUT); Ivo Ferriani (ITA); Luis Moreno (COL); Nita Ambani (IND); Sari Essayah (FIN); and Tricia Smith (CAN) after a proposal was made.

A cross-section of expertise from the worlds of management, law, culture, medicine, business, sociology, and sport are represented by the newly-elected Members. Giving the IOC a wider field of skills and experience.

HRH The Princess Royal (GBR), Anita DeFrantz (USA), Richard Carrión (PUR), Nat Indrapana (THA), Denis Oswald (SUI), IOC President Thomas Bach (GER), Mario Pescante (ITA), Gerhard Heiberg (NOR), Robin Mitchell (FIJ), Alex Gilady (ISR), Sam Ramsamy (RSA), Ung Chang (PRK), Guy Drut (FRA), Samih Moudallal (SYR), Zaiqing Yu (CHN), Ugur Erdener (TUR), Sergey Bubka (UKR) have been re-elected as members.

Now the total number of the IOC Members is up to 98. This newly composed EB will get right to work after the Rio 2016 Games come to a close.

** MARISSA FLANDERS is a graduate of Saint Leo University with a Bachelor's Degree in Sport Business. She has over four years of writing experience and has a real passion for ice hockey following the Pittsburgh Penguins on her blog

Keywords · IOC · IOC Executive Board · Rio 2016 · Olympic Agenda 2020

For more information contact:
Laura Walden ()

All original materials contained in this section are protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of Sports Features Communications, Inc the owner of that content. It is prohibited to alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content.