POSTED: November 8th 2013

Peace and Sport Awards 2013 Winners Revealed in the Presence of H.S.H. Princess Charlene

The winners on stage with HSH Princess Charlene / Peace and Sport
The winners on stage with HSH Princess Charlene / Peace and Sport

MARISSA FLANDERS / Sports Features Communications

(SFC) The annual Peace and Sport Awards, which was created in 2008, has rewarded individuals and organizations alike. The awards are given to those that have made remarkable contributions to peace, dialogue, and social stability to the world via sport. Nominees are selected by a jury of prominent and independent individuals, who are devoted to the promotion of peace or consolidation through sport.

Those individuals who were selected to be a part of this year’s jury were:

·         Tony Estanguet, three-time Olympic Champion, Member of the International Olympic Committee, Champion for Peace

·         Ahlam Salem M. Al-Mana, President of Qatar’s Women’s Sport Committee

·         Gabriel Estauring, Founder and Director of i-ACT

·         Adham Sharara, President of the International Table Tennis Federation

·         Mel Young, President and Founder of the Homeless World Cup

·         Phil Brown, Director, Duke of Edinburgh’s Award, Olympic medalist

·         Dora Pallis, Deputy Director, International Olympic Truce Centre

·         Whitney Kroenke, Co-Founder, Playing for Change and Director of Emeritus, Playing for Change Foundation

The winners for 2013 were revealed Thursday at the Peace and Sport International Forum 2013. The announcement was made during the ceremony and gala dinner, in which H.S.H Princess Charléne was present, along with over 700 delegates from over 100 nations.

The Peace and Sport Awards 2013 winners were:

The Image of the Year, which was supported by AFP, was awarded to Emmanuel Dunant for this photograph, A Day for Peace Through Sport. The photograph was taken at the United Nations Headquarters in New York on August 23, 2013. The photo was of Jacques Rogge, Novak Djokovic, and Vuk Jeremic after the historical decision to declare April 6th as International Day of Sport for Development and Peace.

Sébastien Bouche, Champion of France in 200 with Toulouse Olympique XIII, rugby league won the Champion of the Year award. Sébastien has used sport as a means of supporting diversity, solidarity and integration through his organization “Mixah Solidarité”.

The Sport Event of the Year award went to Encuentro Sociocultural de Pueblos Orginiarios, from the Gol Illuminado Foundation. It is a sociocultural gathering that is for indigenous peoples. The event promotes dialogue and cohesion between the 10 indigenous tribes living in Chile.

Oceania Football Confederation won Sports Federation of the Year award. Their program “Just Play” has been put in effect in eleven Pacific countries, which targets 6 to 12 year olds and promotes healthier lifestyles.

The Corporate Initiative of the Year was awarded to Ferrero France, who has given children from disadvantaged backgrounds chances to participate in sporting experiences through their program “Kinder s’engage pour l’enfance” partnering with French Secours Populaire.

Play 31 won the Non-governmental organization of the year. Play 31 organizes football events in Sierra Leone with a vision of bringing communities, who have been torn apart by conflict, together.  

The Special Jury Prize. After the crisis in Kenya during the 2007/2008 elections, the United Nations Information Center located in Nairobi has created a campaign that encouraged peaceful participation during the 2013 elections. Kenyan sporting personalities conveyed this message of peace.

The Adapted program of the Year was awarded to the N’Tola Sarama Association. In Mali, they developed preliminary projects that were aimed to challenge an extensive range of social issues through the promotion of economic growth. They used a football, tennis program that was targeted to the local environment of the participants.  

Keywords · Peace and Sport · IOC · H.S.H Princess Charlene

For more information contact:
Laura Walden ()

All original materials contained in this section are protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of Sports Features Communications, Inc the owner of that content. It is prohibited to alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content.