POSTED: October 16th 2013

Tokyo 2020 and Buenos Aires 2018 Coordination Commissions named

(LtoR) John Coates was congratulated by the Japanese Ambassador Yoshitaka Akimoto / Australian Olympic Committee
(LtoR) John Coates was congratulated by the Japanese Ambassador Yoshitaka Akimoto / Australian Olympic Committee

CHAD WISE / Sports Features Communications

(SFC) International Olympic Committee Vice President John Coates was named chairman of the Games of the XXXII Olympiad Coordination Commission by IOC President Thomas Bach Wednesday. Frank Fredericks was also named the 3rd Summer Youth Olympic Games Chairman.

The two will lead commission members in their respective Organising Committees in the lead up to the Games. The members represent the stakeholders of the Olympic Movement: athletes, National Olympic Committees, International Sports Federations, and the International Paralympic Committee. They will also link between the stakeholders and the Organising Committees and other Olympic Movement stakeholders, ensuring the successful delivery of the Olympic and Youth Olympic Games.

Arne Ljungqvist, Gerhad Heiberg and Hein Verbruggen will continue their roles with the Medical Commission, Marketing Commission, and OBS, respectively, through the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympic Games. Each of the three’s terms had been set to expire before the 125th IOC Session in Buenos Aires in September.

Richard Carrion will also continue his role negotiating TV rights deals, though he resigned earlier this week. Bach has asked International Olympic Committee member Ser Mian Ng to chair the Finance Commission meeting in December, as well.

The Coordination Commission of the Games of the XXXII Olympiad in Tokyo will include chairman Coates, vice chair Alex Gilady, members Sebastian Coe, Mikaela Cojuangco-Jaworski, Kirsy Coventry, Anita Defrantz, Guy Drut, Habu Gomel, Nicle Hoevertsz, Robin Mitchell, Ldia Nsekera, Andrew Parson, Irena Szewinska, Marius Vizer, and Zaiqing Yu.

Chairman Frederick will be joined by members Danka Barekova, Lingewi Li, Barry Maister, Henry Nunez, and Adham Sharara with the Buenos Aires 2018 Summer Youth Olympic Games Coordination Commission.

Keywords · International Olympic Committee · IOC · Olympics · Youth Olympics · Tokyo 2020 · Buenos Aires 2018 ·

For more information contact:
Laura Walden ()

All original materials contained in this section are protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of Sports Features Communications, Inc the owner of that content. It is prohibited to alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content.