POSTED: October 1st 2013

Erdener reelected President at World Archery Congress

The 50th World Archery Congress concluded Saturday with Turkey's Ugur Erdener reelected President / World Archery
The 50th World Archery Congress concluded Saturday with Turkey's Ugur Erdener reelected President / World Archery

CHAD WISE / Sports Features Communications

(SFC) Dr. Ugur Erdener was reelected as World Archery President Saturday at the second day of the 50th World Archery Congress in Belek.

Erdener received 93 votes out of 95 as the only candidate for the World Archery Presidency, showcasing the support he has received over the course of his past term.

Maria Emma Gaviria of Colombia, Sanguan Kosavinta of Thailand and Philippe Bouclet of France were each elected to the position of Vice President at the World Archery Congress.

Greg Easton of the United States, Vladimir Esheev of Russia and Aladin Gabr of Egypt achieved majorities and will each complete a four-year term on the Executive Board, replacing Gaviria, Kosavinta and Bouclet.

Gabr, World Archery Africa President, is the first Executive Board Member elected from an African Member Association. Gabr helped the development of the Egyptian gold medal-winning team at the recent Mediterranean Games in Mersin.

Awards for the highest number of participations went to the United States, Mexico, and Italy, while the U.S. was also recognised for its success in the World Cups of 2011, 2012, and 2013.

Gaviria also took home the Women and Sports Trophy for her work towards the promotion and development of archery worldwide. International Paralympic Committee and World Archery Head of Classification for Archery Pauline Betteridge, World Archery Para-Archery Committee retiring chair Rita Van Driel, former international judge Guo Bei, and Ogden World Cup Organiser Greg Easton were awarded bronze plaques for their contribution to the success of archery.

London Olympic Games Technical Delegate Eva Thesen, London Olympic and Paralympic Games Competition Manager Chris Marsh, World Archery Judges Committee President Sergio Font, and Dutch Archery Federation Willem Trienekens were awarded Silver plaquettes.

Former International Olympic Committee President Jacques Rogge, Asian Archery Federation and Korea Archery Federation President Eui-Sun Chung, and Erdener were each awarded a Golden Arrow for their exceptional lifetime services to archery.

Ki Bo Bae, Yun Ok Hee, Im Dong Hyun, and Oh Jin Hyek of Korea, Michele Frangilli and Mauro Nespoli of Italy, and Mariana Avitia and Aida Roman of Mexico, medallists in Archery at the 2012 London Olympic Games, gave delegates of all participating Member Associations and members of the Executive Board commemorative medals.

The conclusion of the World Archery Congress was followed by the Opening Ceremony of the 47th World Archery Championships in Belek Antalya.

Keywords · World Archery · Archer · Belek · Ugur Erdener · International Olympic Committee · Jacques Rogge · IOC ·

For more information contact:
Laura Walden ()

All original materials contained in this section are protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of Sports Features Communications, Inc the owner of that content. It is prohibited to alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content.