POSTED: June 7th 2013

Bach, Bubka, Carrion, Ng, Oswald, and Wu six men vying for IOC presidency

Who will be the IOC's next leader?
Who will be the IOC's next leader?

LAURA WALDEN / Sports Features Communications

(SFC) As the International Olympic Committee (IOC) call for candidatures closed yesterday six men have stepped forward for the top job in elite sport: Thomas Bach, Sergey Bubka, Richard Carrión, Ser Miang Ng, Denis Oswald, and Ching-Kuo Wu. Last time there was a handful that threw their hats into the ring.

This particular elective session proves also to be the most political in the history of the IOC as at the same meeting there will be decisions as to the 2020 summer Games host city (Istanbul, Madrid, Tokyo), the 2020 Games’ program (Baseball/Softball, Squash, Wrestling) and prior to that the 2018 summer Youth Olympic Games (YOG) host city (Buenos Aires, Glasgow, Medellin).

IOC head Dr. Jacques Rogge will step down from his second term in office after being re-elected for four more years in Copenhagen in 2009. Rogge’s first eight year term began after Juan Antonio Samaranch left office in July of 2001. IOC presidents are limited to one eight year term then a shorter re-elected term only allowing for 12 years in office.

Two of the candidates serve as IOC Vice-Presidents Thomas Bach (GER) and Ser Miang Ng (SIN) and another two sit on the IOC executive board, Ching-Kuo Wu (TPE) and Sergey Bubka (UKR). Richard Carrion (PUR) is in charge of the finance commission and Denis Oswald (SUI) was the chair of the coordination commission overseeing London 2012 and Athens 2004.

All come from seasoned and varied sports administration backgrounds, however when you look at their experience of running a governance foundation none have ever served as a head of a continental organization with a number of NOCs.

The closest is Denis Oswald who served as head of the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF) for eight years until his resignation last year which comprises 28 Ifs. Ten of the heads of the Ifs are also voting IOC members and three of these are connected to a current 2020 host city bid. One IF chief, C.K. Wu, in charge of the international boxing federation (AIBA), is a rival for the top office.

And now the lobbying will get started in earnest as the IOC will choose their new leader at the 125th IOC Session on 10 September 2013 in Buenos Aires in just three months.

All candidates will have the opportunity to address the IOC voting assembly during the July 3-4 assembly in Lausanne at the Extraordinary Session in Lausanne.

Keywords · Bach · Bubka · Carrion · Ng · Oswald · Wu · IOC · Olympics

For more information contact:
Laura Walden ()

All original materials contained in this section are protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of Sports Features Communications, Inc the owner of that content. It is prohibited to alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content.