POSTED: August 11th 2012

IOC: The Olympic athletes elect four new members with full powers at London 2012

LAURA WALDEN / Sports Features Communications

August 11 – The results of the athletes’ vote has been announced by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and four new members will serve to bring Olympian representation to the IOC assembly.

Danka Bartekova from Slovakia (shooting), James Tomkins from Australia (rowing), Kirsty Coventry from Zimbabwe (aquatics) and Tony Estanguet from France (canoe-kayak) will all serve eight year terms as full IOC members including adding their votes for the host cities as well as the new president.

Anita DeFrantz, Chairwoman of the Election Committee and IOC member, made the announcement today at the Olympic Village.

DeFrantz, herself a rowing Olympian, said, "The athletes are at the centre of everything we do, and the Commission ensures that their voice is heard in all important decisions taken by the IOC. The four new members can make a valuable contribution to the work of this Commission."

There were 21 candidates in the elections that were held between 16 July to 8 August 2012 in the Olympic Village in London, the Olympic Sailing Village, the Olympic Rowing and Canoe Sprint Village as well as in the five cities hosting the football competitions.

Some 6,924 athletes – 64 per cent of all eligible voters – cast their votes and the final numbers were Bartekova elected with 2,295 votes, followed by Tomkins with 1,802 votes, Coventry received 1,797 votes and Estanguet 1,779.

The four athletes take the places of Hicham El Guerrouj, Rania Elwani, Frank Fredericks (former Chairman) and Jan Zelezny, who were elected in 2004 at the Athens Games for their 8 year terms. Frank Fredericks was nominated as a regular IOC member during the session prior to the start of London 2012 so he will continue to serve.

The new four will also serve on the Athletes’ Commission chaired by Claudia Bokel, who also sits on the IOC executive board as the athlete representative.

Keywords · IOC · athletes · London 2012 · Danka Bartekova · James Tomkins · Kirsty Coventry · Tony Estanguet

For more information contact:
Laura Walden ()

All original materials contained in this section are protected by United States copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of Sports Features Communications, Inc the owner of that content. It is prohibited to alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content.